Be careful about what people promise you on interview

“You are great Conrad, we will see you here in July”

“You are exactly what we have been looking for”

“You are ranked high enough to match here”

I heard all these things when I was preparing my rank list. I was not exactly lied to. I remember the excuse I heard to this day “We put you at position 17, we alway go to position 20-25 on our rank list. We could not have predicted we would only go to position 12”

I was heart broken. I now, in retrospect, see what a disaster it would have been to have matched in my first choice. I matched at my fourth choice. A preliminary spot in medicine.

Later, I switched to categorical medicine, and because the chief resident.
How could I have known?

Leave a Reply

