Fred Fischer Memorial for my father tonight at 7pm at the Nippon Club

In “Routine Miracles” I write about the day I told my father I wanted to go to Medical School.  “What do you want to do that for? A Doctor is nothing but a specialized mechanic”.

My father was a very complex man. Strongly intellectual. I never saw my father flustered about anything. Never.

Much of what I have learned has been by learning to overcome this man. A 37 year New York City policeman. Violent, turbulent, generous and with an analytical mind that was able to perceive reality free of illusion.

My father was always concerned about ‘confirmation bias” / He wrote extensively on the subject. His idea was that people decided on a position then selected facts to support a pre-determined position. His greatest counseling was to purposely seek out opposing viewpoints and to test your ideas.

My father’s beliefs were completely NON altruistic. He would understand the lack of universal coverage as ‘The Small guy always takes a beating.” but he would think me foolish to go to war on this. to fight.

He was more skilled at revenge. “THere is NEVER enough revenge’ he would quote from the Merchant of Venice. Yet, despite his rhetoric, his actions were immensely supportive of myself, and my children. Unfailingly generous, and wise…no ….. insightful and analytical. A master tactician.

In the gospels it is said… two lines AFTER the bliblical basis of Routine Miracles (Chapter 10 mathew)  “Be as wise as serpents and as gentle as doves’. If we are to protect this world, we will need the cold, analytical intelligence of Fred Fischer to guide us in how to protect a suffering people from the callous disregard of those unwilling to take 10% from the military budget to solve this issue.
I am not like my father in goals. I have learned much on how to achieve goals he would not have felt obtainable or important.  But, he would have helped me understand evil.

In this world, the forces of mercy and compassion must have a piece of a man like my father, Fred Fischer, to guide us in not being defeated.

My father, a lifelong atheist will have a ceremony I have arranged with the President of the Atheists association, a Zen monk and a catholic priest, the  one “Routine Miracles” is dedicated too.

Although he described Religious people as deluded “So kid, do you REALLY think the whole world is based on a woman who took some bad advice from a talking snake?”

On the other hand. he would have liked me to invite the opposing viewpoint as well.

7 Responses to “Fred Fischer Memorial for my father tonight at 7pm at the Nippon Club”

  1. Amitoj Singh Says:

    My condolences to you and ur family…

  2. Cynthia Larsen Says:

    Fred’s friends at Synchronicity here in Virginia have just learned of his passing. We knew him as “Grandpa” and he was certainly one of a kind! Complex and intelligent and funny and prickly. We visited the Vatican together and prowled the nighttime streets of Berlin.
    I can’t help but smile now when I consider that the old atheist may have suddenly found himself face to face with the opposing viewpoint. I’d like to be a fly on that etheric wall!
    Love and Blessings to Fred and his family as the journey continues…

    • Conrad Fischer Says:

      Hi Cynthia,
      Thank you so much for your comment! We had a TRIpartite ceremony and had the president of the NYC Atheists AND a Catholic priest and a buddhist priest there! Just in case!

  3. danijela Says:

    my comment was inappropriate?

  4. Reem Says:

    My belated condolences to you.The passing away of your father must have be a transitional incident in your life.He seemed to have a great influence on you in pursuing your way to success, your analytical way of thinking and in knowing the “evil” .May he RIP.

Leave a Reply

